Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services


The university has many partners. Always use the partner organization’s full name.

A few examples:

  • Durham Regional Police Service (DRPS)
  • Lakeridge Health
    • Individual hospital locations should be described as Lakeridge Health [name of location] e.g. Lakeridge Health Oshawa
    • Locations include Oshawa, Bowmanville and Port Perry, with a specialty hospital in Whitby
  • Lakeridge Health Education and Research Network (LHEARN)
  • Ontario Power Generation (OPG)
  • Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences (Ontario Shores)
  • SickKids (also known as The Hospital for Sick Children [include uppercase The])
  • Abilities Centre

If making use of logos/artwork from other institutions, seek permission and be certain you are using their most recent corporate identity.