Skip to main content
Ontario Tech acknowledges the lands and people of the Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation.

We are thankful to be welcome on these lands in friendship. The lands we are situated on are covered by the Williams Treaties and are the traditional territory of the Mississaugas, a branch of the greater Anishinaabeg Nation, including Algonquin, Ojibway, Odawa and Pottawatomi. These lands remain home to many Indigenous nations and peoples.

We acknowledge this land out of respect for the Indigenous nations who have cared for Turtle Island, also called North America, from before the arrival of settler peoples until this day. Most importantly, we acknowledge that the history of these lands has been tainted by poor treatment and a lack of friendship with the First Nations who call them home.

This history is something we are all affected by because we are all treaty people in Canada. We all have a shared history to reflect on, and each of us is affected by this history in different ways. Our past defines our present, but if we move forward as friends and allies, then it does not have to define our future.

Learn more about Indigenous Education and Cultural Services

Indigenous people

Canadian Press uses uppercase for Aboriginal Peoples and Indigenous Peoples, which includes all First Nations, Métis and Inuit people in Canada. First Nations is also uppercase.

Indigenous is preferred as being more reflective of the recognition of a wider global community.

Where appropriate, use the name of the community, such as Mississaugas of Scugog Island First Nation. Always use Indigenous spellings, such at the Baagwating Community Association.

Avoid use of reserve, tribe and native. Preference is given to community, home, people, nation, band, elder.

Wherever possible, always be guided by the preference of those concerned.

When in doubt, contact the Baagwating Indigenous Student Centre at 905.721.8668 ext. 6795 or email